Maralik (Maraleeg) is a town nestled in the western foothills of Mount Aragats on the Yerevan-Talin-Gyumri highway about 100 km northwest of Yerevan. It is the main town and highway stop of the region of Ani. At the time of the 1980 census, it had a population of 4443 whose ancestors migrated here between 1828-1829 after the Russo-Turkish war from Kars, Khnous, Basen, Alashkert and Moush.
The Church of the Holy Mother of God, which was built in 1903, is the main church of the town and its neighboring school has been open since 1911. One of the most beloved pilgrimage sites of the population, St. Stephen’s Chapel, was located just south of the town. A tradition goes that a deer (maral in colloquial Armenian) came to this spot to be sacrificed, hence the name of the hill and town.