The Legislative Branch In Armenia
1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)
Loading ... Loading ...

Legislative power in the Republic of Armenia belongs to the National Assembly (Parliament), which implements its activities through sessions, permanent and temporary committees, as well as through its deputies.

The National Assembly is a single-chamber representative body. Its members are elected by a combination of single member district and proportional representation.

According to Chapter 4, Article 62 of the Constitution of the Republic of Armenia,

“Legislative power in the Republic of Armenia shall be vested in the National Assembly.

Under cases provided by Articles 59, 66, 73, 74, 78, 81, 83, 84, 111, 112 of the Constitution, as well as for purposes of organizing its own activities, the National Assembly shall adopt resolutions which shall be signed and published by its President.

The powers of the National Assembly are determined by the Constitution.

The National Assembly shall operate in accordance with its rules of procedure.”

On May 25, 2003, the Republic of Armenia held its third scheduled parliamentary elections since independence. Following the new constitutional requirements, of the 131 deputies (or Members of Parliament) elected, 56 were elected through the majoritarian electoral system and 75 deputies were elected through the proportional representation system. The proportional representation system provides for seats for political parties and political blocs divided according to a proportional system.

The National Assembly is convened twice a year: in spring (from the first Monday of February to the second Wednesday of June) and autumn (from the second Monday of September to the second Wednesday of December). Extraordinary sessions may be convened by the President of the Republic at the initiative of the Government, or at least one third of the total number of deputies; and by the Chairman of the National Assembly at the initiative of the Government or at least one third of the total number of deputies.

The Chairman of the National Assembly is elected by a majority of votes in a secret ballot by the Members of Parliament. Chairman of the National Assembly is Artur Baghdasaryan. Vice-Chairmen are Vahan Hovhannisyan and Tigran Torosian.

Permanent parliamentary committees prepare and discuss legislation, acts, and issues that are under the powers of the National Assembly. They also oversee their implementation. There are six permanent committees in the National Assembly. If necessary, ad hoc committees are formed.

Related articles:

  1. The Judicial Branch In Armenia
  2. President of Armenia (1998-2008)

No reviews yet.

Leave a Reply